Molly Ovenden

Leaning on God's understanding

I write because…

The following is my freewrite* responding to a prompt during Week One of Creative Writing: Making it a Habit.

I write because I feel I have something to say. I want to communicate what I have learned. I write because it wells up inside me and I need to get it out otherwise I get grumpy and feel icky and a bit ill and like I might explode. I write because I like it. I think I am good at it so why not do something I like to do that feels natural? I write because it feels normal. I write because it is more comfortable to get my thoughts out that way rather than talking and blabbing for ages. I want to lay out all of my thoughts clearly so that later on I can see what I think and restructure what i actually think. I write because it’s fun and I get lots of story ideas and people have been entertained by my stories. I write because I am creative and writing is a way to express it all. I write because I have done so since I was little and could write. I write because I love it and when I do write I feel alive and like I am doing something special, life giving and authentic. It makes me happy.

*A freewrite is a piece of writing in which one writes without regard to conventions, grammar, punctuation, or the need to make sense.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

